People - Leadership

The Institute for Genome Sciences is led by preeminent scientists, who have pioneered the fields of microbial genomics and bioinformatics and who are trailblazers in innovative, multi-disciplinary research initiatives.

Jacques Ravel, Ph.D.


Acting Director, Institute for Genome Sciences

Acting Director, Institute for Genome Sciences

Professor, Microbiology and Immunology, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Dr. Ravel is a lead investigator on human microbiome studies and has expertise in microbial genomics and microbial forensics. His research focuses on the application of microbial genomics to three main topics: exploring the interaction between the human microbiome and its host, microbial genome sequence comparative analyses and chemical genomics. More information about Dr. Ravel's research can be found at

Claire M. Fraser, Ph.D.


Dean E. Albert Reece Endowed Professor in the School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology Founding Director, Institute for Genome Sciences

Claire Fraser is a globally recognized scientist - pioneering the field of microbial genomics and the application of large-scale DNA sequencing and analysis to the study of the microbial world. Dr. Fraser and her colleagues decoded and analyzed genomes of disease-causing bacteria that cause anthrax, Lyme disease, syphilis, tuberculosis, cholera, meningitis, pneumonia, and ulcers.

Owen R. White, Ph.D.


Associate Director, Institute for Genome Sciences

Associate Director, Research Collaboration and Development, Institute for Genome Sciences

Professor, Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Maryland School of Medicine

A critical product of Dr. White's research is to engage other researchers in large-scale interoperation, for annotation, ontology development and data sharing. NIH has selected Dr. White as the lead scientist for the Human Microbiome Project's central data repository or the Data Analysis and Coordination Center (known as the HMP DACC).

Appointment, Promotion & Tenure (APT) Committee

Hervé Tettelin, PhD Chair
Lynn Schriml, PhD
Michelle Shardelle, PhD
Center Directors
Tina Ruskey Institute Administrator
Genomics Resource Center
Luke Tallon Scientific Director, GRC
Lisa DeShong Sadzewicz, Ph.D. Administrative Director, GRC
Informatics Resource Center
Owen White PhD Director, Bioinformatics
Anup Mahurkar Executive Director, Software Engineering & IT
Michelle Gwinn-Giglio PhD Associate Director, Analysis